Our mission statement

Our mission statement

It takes
a village

it takes a village
“It takes a village to raise a child.” A well-known African saying that illus­trates a uni­ver­sal value: that as a co­mmu­ni­ty, we are res­pon­sib­le for crea­ting a plea­sant, healthy living en­vi­ron­ment for our fu­tu­re ge­ne­ra­tions.

Developing ideas, sharing insights, cherishing our environment. This is how we work together, just like children learn when growing up.

It takes a village. Our community and our living environment have become complex, its challenges urgent. It’s more important than ever to shape tomorrow’s environment along sustainable lines, for ourselves, our children and our planet. That requires ambition, creativity and innovation. It’s up to us to achieve this, together with everyone involved, across disciplines and sectors, in different contexts.

BUUR and Sweco are combining therefor forces. By joining together as one, we can have a greater impact on our living environment. To its benefit. Together, we can translate the shared ambition of ‘Transforming Society Together’ into a concrete vision and projects.

BUUR reinforces the interdisciplinary approach adopted by Sweco and will form a single team with Urban.Habitat. Together, we are setting the tone in Belgium, leading the way whilst keeping a view on Europe and our global goals.

Our programmes

Our spatial
transition
programmes

We invest in programmes that mirror the main social issues of our time. They act as our compass guiding us into the future. This way, we contribute towards breakthroughs for tomorrow’s world.

Climate & energy

+
+

Carbon neutrality will be the norm in 2050. We assist all our clients to draw up climate plans and implement a resolute energy transition. Together we are turning the climate curve positive.

  • Climate miti­ga­tion & adapt­a­tion
  • Energy landscapes
  • Local energy commu­nities
  • Sustain­ability assess­ments

Strong centres

+
+

City and village centres are sustainable living environments par excellence. We also make them the best places to live. We ensure that they are inclusive and diverse, brimful of life and character. We do this by enhancing each centre on a customised basis, and controlling sprawl outside of the centres.

  • Urban design
  • City renewal
  • Neigh­bour­hood revi­taliza­tion
  • Transit Oriented Develop­ment
  • Heri­tage protec­tion
  • Scenic quality plans

Healthy environments

+
+

Our health depends on the places, infrastructure and nature around us. They influence our choices, our behaviour and our general welfare. We design healthy environments as a spatial vaccine, from a granular level of an individual building up to the macro vision of spatial design, including public spaces and landscapes.

  • Healing environ­ments
  • Space for play and recrea­tion
  • Food environ­ments
  • Spatial epidemio­logy
  • Health in All Policies
  • Health impact assess­ments

Integral ecosystems

+
+

Plants, animals, people and buildings together form an ecosystem for our cities and neighbourhoods. In our carefully shaped landscapes and ecological residential districts, we ensure that this ecosystem flourishes. Our projects offer space for biodiversity, water, food, recreation, energy production and more.

  • Nature-based solutions
  • Landscape design
  • Public space
  • Biodi­ver­sity
  • Ecosystem services

Circular economy

+
+

A sustainable society is organised on a circular basis, with closed technical and biological circuits. But how do we make the transition to a circular economy? We develop solutions for industrial production, water management, food production and all the other systems that determine our society’s metabolism.

  • Urban metabolism
  • Cradle to cradle
  • Productive city
  • City logistics
  • Circular area develop­ment

Sustainable mobility

+
+

Today, people depend on their cars, with a drastic impact on the environment and the surroundings in which we live. In our projects, we tackle the underlying spatial problems and integrate sustainable and innovative mobility solutions. By doing this, we stimulate a culture of responsible and active transport choices.

  • Modal shift
  • Green mobility
  • Traffic safety
  • Transit-Oriented Develop­ment
  • Mobility regions
  • Cycle culture
  • Traffic and infra­struc­ture planning

Technology for people

+
+

Smart cities use information technology to understand and guide the concentration of activities and flows. Our data solutions bring authorities and residents closer together thanks to open data and GIS applications. An efficient way to foster exchange and co-creation.

  • Smart city
  • Smart village
  • GIS tools
  • Public policy evalua­tion and moni­to­ring
  • Collab­orative urban design

Regional development

+
+

Space is political and requires cooperation. As planners and intermediaries, we help develop regional spatial development policies. We combine disciplines to create together sustainable solutions for cities, provinces, regions and countries.

  • Regionale planning
  • Politics of space
  • Governance
  • Mobility regions
  • Energy regions

Inclusive society

+
+

A changing society risks leaving people behind. Thanks to a careful layout and organisational structure of the living environment, we promote an inclusive society fostering social justice. We work closely with various social players and ensure that our designs are welcoming and accessible to everyone.

  • public partici­pation and co-produc­tion
  • Commons
  • Placemaking
  • Universal design

Complex projects as spatial levers

+
+

Complex infrastructure projects have an enormous impact on the people, public spaces and the natural environment. To increase their social added-value as much as possible, we design our projects in tight-collaboration, taking account of every aspect, every stakeholder. As a result, they become the driving force for bigger, high-quality and sustainable changes.

  • Infrastructure design
  • Complex projects
  • Integrated project develop­ment and manage­ment
  • Process manage­ment
  • Co-creation

Complementary expertise

Complementary
and multilateral
expertise

complementary expertise
Strong coop­e­ra­tion gives BUUR and Sweco more clout.

Strong cooperation gives BUUR and Sweco more clout. It offers the opportunity to contribute on a larger scale in the transition to an energy- and climate-neutral, healthy and safe society. We do this driven by our conviction that a carefully considered spatial layout changes our behaviour and society for the better.

Urban and rural areas need inspiring and integral designs and feasible solutions. By combining our activities, we strengthen our expertise in strategic and spatial planning, urban design and the creation of public spaces and landscapes. We ensure an integrated vision and cooperation between disciplines such as infrastructure, energy, buildings and environmental technology.

From design and research to policy support, project management and implementation. Thanks to the range of services we provide, we formulate integrated and effective responses to the ambitions of clients and partners.

BUUR and Sweco continue to work hard. As we do so, we deliberately aim to serve as an example in Flanders, Brussels and Wallonia. We explore new markets with innovative solutions. With the support of the international Sweco group, we position ourselves in Europe and globally as a partner in Transforming Society Together.

A strong team

A strong,
dedicated
team

team
Our international team is full of committed collaborators with widely differing areas of expertise.

Our international team is full of committed collaborators with widely differing areas of expertise. That creates a surprising and enriching synergy.

Together, we transform our far-reaching social ambitions into reality according to a single, clear vision.

Notre mission

Notre mission

Il faut
tout un village

it takes a village
“Il faut tout un village pour élever un enfant.” Ce pro­verbe afri­cain bien connu illus­tre une va­leur uni­ver­selle : en tant que commu­nauté, nous avons la res­pon­sa­bi­li­té de créer un cadre de vie agré­able et sain pour les géné­ra­tions futures.

Développer des idées, partager des connaissances, chérir notre environnement… Voilà comment nous travaillons ensemble, comme des enfants qui apprennent en grandissant.

Il faut tout un village. Notre communauté et notre cadre de vie sont devenus complexes, les défis sont devenus urgents. Il n’a jamais été aussi crucial de concevoir le cadre de vie de demain de manière durable, pour nous-mêmes, nos enfants et notre planète. Cela demande de l’ambition, de la créativité et de l’innovation. C’est à nous de concrétiser cela dès aujourd’hui, en concertation avec toutes les parties concernées, à travers les disciplines et les secteurs, dans différents contextes.

À cette fin, BUUR et Sweco ont décidé d’allier leurs forces. En nous unissant, nous avons le pouvoir de créer un impact plus important dont le premier bénéficiaire sera notre cadre de vie. Ensemble, nous partageons l’ambition « Transforming Society Together  » et la traduisons en visions et projets concrets appliqués à la transition spatiale.

BUUR renforce l’approche interdisciplinaire de Sweco et va former une seule équipe avec Urban.Habitat. Ensemble, nous serons actifs en Belgique, avec toujours l’Europe et les objectifs globaux en ligne de mire.

Nos programmes

Nos programmes
pour la transition
spatiale

Nous nous investissons dans des programmes de recherche qui reflètent les défis sociaux les plus importants aujourd’hui. Ils constituent notre boussole pour l’avenir. Nous contribuons ainsi à la création d’ouvertures pour le monde de demain.

Climat et énergie

+
+

La neutralité carbone sera la norme en 2050. Nous accompagnons chaque client dans l’élaboration de plans climat et la mise en œuvre de stratégies de transition énergétique volontariste. Ensemble, nous infléchissons la courbe climatique dans une direction positive.

  • Atténua­tion des effets du change­ment clima­tique
  • Adapta­tion aux change­ments climati­ques
  • Paysages énergé­tiques
  • Commu­nautés énergé­tiques locales
  • Évalua­tions de la durabi­lité

Noyaux forts

+
+

Les centres des villes et des villages sont des milieux de vie durables par excellence. Nous en faisons également des endroits qualitatifs pour vivre : riches en végétation, inclusifs et diversifiés, pleins de vie et de caractère… Nous remplissons cet objectif grâce à un renforcement adapté des centres, mais aussi grâce à une réduction de la prolifération en dehors des noyaux urbains.

  • Design urbain
  • Rénova­tion de quartier
  • Rénova­tion urbaine
  • Transit Oriented Develop­ment
  • Politique patri­moniale
  • Plans de qualité paysagère

Environnements sains

+
+

Notre santé dépend des lieux, des infrastructures et de la nature qui nous entourent. Ces paramètres influencent nos choix, nos comportements et notre bien-être en général. Nous concevons des environnements sains qui constituent de véritables vaccins, depuis l’échelle du bâtiment jusqu’à celle des espaces publics et des paysages.

  • Environ­ne­ments curatifs
  • Espace de jeu et de loisirs
  • Ludicité
  • Environ­ne­ments de product­ion alimen­taire
  • Épidémio­logie spatiale
  • Health in All Policies
  • Évalua­tion de l’impact sur la santé

Écosystèmes intégrés

+
+

Les plantes, les animaux, les personnes et les bâtiments forment ensemble l’écosystème de nos villes et quartiers. Nous favorisons l’épanouissement de cet écosystème grâce au soin apporté à la conception des paysages et de zones résidentielles écologiques. Nos projets offrent ainsi l’espace à la biodiversité, l’eau, l’alimentation, les loisirs, la production d’énergie...

  • Solutions basées sur la nature
  • Aménage­ment paysager
  • Espace public
  • Biodi­ver­sité
  • Services éco­systém­iques

Économie circulaire

+
+

Une société durable est organisée de manière circulaire, avec des cycles techniques et biologiques fermés. Mais comment mettre en place la transition vers une telle économie circulaire ? Nous développons des solutions adaptées à la production industrielle, à la gestion de l’eau, à la production alimentaire et à tous les autres systèmes qui sont déterminants pour le métabolisme de notre société.

  • Métabo­lisme urbain
  • Cradle to cradle
  • Ville produc­tive
  • Logis­tique urbaine
  • Dévelop­pe­ment de zones circu­laires

Mobilité durable

+
+

Les gens dépendent encore énormément de leurs voitures. Leur impact sur l’environnement et notre cadre de vie est dramatique. Dans nos projets, nous nous attaquons aux problèmes spatiaux sous-jacents et y intégrons des solutions de mobilité durables et innovantes. Nous stimulons ainsi une culture commune vers des modes de transport responsables et actifs.

  • Modal shift
  • Report modal
  • Mobilité verte
  • Sécurité routière
  • Transit Oriented Develop­ment
  • Stratégie régio­nale de mobi­lité
  • Culture du vélo
  • Planifi­cation du trafic et des infra­struc­tures

De la technologie pour les personnes

+
+

Les villes intelligentes utilisent les technologies de l’information pour comprendre et gérer la concentration des activités et des flux. Nos solutions via la gestion des données rapprochent les décideurs et les résidents, grâce à l’open data et aux applications SIG. Nous favorisons ainsi l’échange et la co-création.

  • Smart city
  • Smart village
  • Outils SIG
  • Évalua­tion et suivi des poli­ti­ques
  • Gouver­nemen­tales
  • Cocréa­tion urbaine

Développement régional

+
+

L’espace revêt une dimension politique et nécessite des formes de coopération. En tant que planificateurs et médiateurs, nous contribuons à façonner une politique régionale de développement spatial. Nous unissons les différentes disciplines pour créer conjointement des solutions durables pour les villes, les provinces, les régions et les pays.

  • Aménagement du territoire
  • Politique environ­ne­men­tale
  • Gouvernance
  • Stratégies de mobi­lité région­ales
  • Stratégies énergé­tiques région­ales

Société inclusive

+
+

Une société en mutation présente le risque de marginaliser une partie de sa population. Nous visons au contraire la formation d’une société inclusive et la justice sociale grâce à une conception adaptée du cadre de vie. Pour y parvenir, nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec différents types d’acteurs sociaux et assurons que nos créations soient attractives et accessibles à tous.

  • Partici­pation citoy­enne
  • Coproduc­tion
  • Biens communs
  • Place­making
  • Design adapt­able

Les projets complexes comme levier spatial

+
+

Les projets d’infrastructure complexes ont un impact significatif sur les personnes, l’espace public et la nature. Pour maximiser leur valeur ajoutée sociale, nous concevons nos projets en collaboration et avec une attention pour tous les aspects de ces projets. Ils deviennent ainsi moteur de changements plus importants, plus qualitatifs et plus durables.

  • Conception d’infra­struc­tures
  • Projets comple­xes
  • Dévelop­pement et gestion intégrés de projets
  • Super­vision de processus
  • Co-création

Expertise complémentaire

Expertise
complémentaire et multidisciplinaire

complementary expertise
Une collab­o­ra­tion so­li­de donne plus de poids à BUUR et Sweco.

Une collaboration solide donne plus de poids à BUUR et Sweco. Elle offre la possibilité de contribuer à plus grande échelle à la transition vers une société neutre en énergie et respectueuse du climat, un shift vers une vie plus saine et plus sûre. Nous sommes animés par la conviction qu’une conception spatiale réfléchie modifie positivement notre comportement et notre société.

Les zones urbaines et rurales nécessitent des formes de conceptions séduisantes et intégrées mais aussi des solutions réalistes. En regroupant nos activités, nous renforçons notre expertise en planification stratégique et spatiale, en design urbain et en réalisation d’espaces publics et de paysages. Nous garantissons une vision intégrée et une collaboration efficace entre différentes disciplines telles que les infrastructures, l’énergie, les bâtiments et la technologie environnementale.

Depuis la conception et la recherche jusqu’au soutien à la maîtrise d’ouvrage, la gestion de projet et la mise en œuvre… Nos services nous permettent de formuler des réponses intégrées et efficaces aux ambitions de chaque client et partenaire.

Pour ce faire, BUUR et Sweco travaillent ensemble avec diligence. Nous avons délibérément choisi de nous positionner en tant qu’exemple à suivre en Flandre, à Bruxelles et en Wallonie. Nous continuons d’explorer de nouveaux marchés en proposant des solutions innovantes. Avec le soutien du groupe international Sweco, nous nous positionnons également en Europe et dans le monde en tant que partenaires de Transforming Society Together.

Une équipe forte

Une équipe
forte et
impliquée

team
Notre équipe in­ter­na­tio­na­le ras­semble des col­la­bo­ra­teurs en­ga­gés, pré­sen­tant un large éven­tail d’ex­per­ti­ses.

Notre équipe internationale rassemble des collaborateurs engagés, présentant un large éventail d’expertises. Une équipe à la synergie étonnante et enrichissante. Ensemble, nous veillons à faire de nos fortes ambitions sociales une réalité, grâce à l’établissement d’une vision claire.